Random Thoughts: Part 1

Hey, so I’ve been meaning to write lately but haven’t come up with anything I liked, but have had various “tidbits” come to mind, although some may share the same idea. These are of a deeper nature than a lot of my random thoughts, so if you’re not up to that, then here’s a video of sheep singing along to Whitney Houston. I guarantee you it’s the best thing you’ll see on the internet today.

Ah-ha! Moment

A lot of times you can be reading and something may jump out at you. I know that’s been the case for me lately when reading a daily Bible plan. Whether it be a couple of sentences, a few words, or a long paragraph may speak right into your situation and cause the light in your head to go on. While getting a revelation from reading is amazing, what good is it if you don’t put it into action? If we take what we’ve discovered, write it down, meditate on it and get to the root of it, then at that point it has the ability to change us and the way we think.

Do Over!

I recently started reading the book “Do Over”, by Jon Acuff. I’m only a few chapters in but have already recognized a lot of opportunities for professional development. Are you like me and you feel stuck in a 9-5 job and realize you were made for something more fulfilling, yet not sure exactly what it is? You are? Great. Well, not great, I suppose, but you know what I mean. A very simple way to get unstuck is to start writing things down. Brainstorm.

What do I love to do? Who do I know who can ask questions and uncover some realistic options in which I venture into? How can I make it a reality? If we don’t write things down, then we don’t make progress. It’s great having ideas, but unless it gets written down and we invest time into thinking about it, they’ll just be wishes.

I bought a notebook to write down different things that jump out at me when reading “Do Over.” I just had lunch with a friend the other day and he gave me some great insight into a more fulfilling and enjoyable career option, but nothing will come of it if I don’t write it down and start planning.

“Write the vision and make it plain.” – Habbakuk 2:2

The Importance of Quiet Time

I love having quiet time, but I want to do it more. I want need to be consistent every day. It doesn’t take much. I just need to shut everything off and focus on my relationship with God. Through reading and prayer I’m able to connect with Him and receive what I need. Doing so brings peace, clarity, and I feel spiritually, mentally, and emotionally “reset”.

Unfortunately I’ve neglected that so often and I just tried to live off of an experience I had at church on Sunday, even if it was unintentional. I can tell you that it doesn’t work that way! As amazing as what can happen in a corporate worship service, our relationship with God demands more.

We need to stay connected regularly in order to stay on track and remain sharp. It’s like when you use a laptop and the battery goes down. You have to reconnect to the power source to recharge and keep going. It’s extremely important and I want it to be a high priority for me. My character and integrity has to reflect His, so that’s the only way to do it.

Leave a comment